## THE PRESIDENT'S APPOINTMENTS TUESDAY, MARCH 16, 1954

Mr. S. R. Finley, Chairman of Committee, Citizens for TVA, Inc., 9:00 am c/o Electric Power Board, Chattanooga, Tennessee Mayor George R. Dempster, President, Citizens for TVA, Inc., Knoxville, Tennessee Mr. Leonard Evans, President, Tennessee State CIO, Maryville, Tennessee Mayor Paul McGregor, Director, Tennessee Municipal League, Clarksville, Tennessee Mr. Floyd S. Nelson, President, Tennessee Rural Electric Coop. Assn., c/o Lincoln County EMC, Fayetteville, Tennessee Mr. S. A. Para, Legislative Representative, Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, 810 Sudekum Building, Nashville, Tennessee Mr. Stanton E. Smith, President, Tennessee Federation of Labor, 540 Vine Street, Chattanooga, Tennessee Mr. M. C. Stewart, President, Tennessee Valley Public Power Assn., c/o Sand Mountain Electric Coop., Fort Payne, Alabama (Mr. Finley wrote the Presidents in February, requesting an audience for this Committee to present petitions signed by thousands of people in the States of Alabama, Mississippi, Kentucky, Tennessee and Georgia, requesting that Gordon R. Clapp be reappointed as Chairman of TVA Board of Directors)

10:00 am Senator John M. Butler, Maryland (Asked if he might see the President to discuss a special problem he has in connection with his Chairmanship of the Water Transportation Subcommittee of the Senate)

10:30 am The President received the Members of the Rubber Producing Facilities Disposal Commission. (Asked for this thru Governor Adams, to present an interim report) The following were present:

Hon. Holman D. Pettibone, Chairman Hon. Leslie R. Rounds, Vice Chairman Hon. Everett R. Cook, Commissioner Hon. Eugene Holland, Executive Administrator

Hon. Donald Hogate, Special Assistant

11:00 am Mr. Robert Burroughs, Manchester, New Hampshire

H.E. Sadao Iguchi, the Ambassador of Japan 11:45 am (Hon. John F. Simmons, Chief, Division of Protocol) (Newly appointed - presented his credentials)

12:00 (Hon. Robert Cutler) OFF THE RECORD (Hon. James Lay) (Briefed the President on N.S. C.)

OFF THE RECORD (Hon. Gabriel Hauge) 12:45 pm

7:30 pm

1:00 pm The President gave a Luncheon for the Joint United States-Canada Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs. The following were present: The Rt. Hon. Clarence Decatur Howe, M.P. - Minister of Trade, Commerce and Defense Production

The Rt. Hon. James Garfield Gardiner, M.P. - Minister of Agriculture

The Hon. Douglas Charles Abbot, M.P. - Minister of Finance The Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson, M.P. - Secretary of State for External Affairs

Mr. Douglas V. LePan, Minister Counselor of Canadian Embassy Hon. George M. Humphrey, Secretary of the Treasury

Hon. Ezra Taft Benson, Secretary of Agriculture

Hon. Sinclair Weeks, Secretary of Commerce Hon. Sherman Adams, Assistant to the President

Hon. Walter B. Smith, Under Secretary of State

Hon. Livingston T. Merchant, Assistant Secretary of State Hon. R. Douglas Stuart, American Ambassador to Canada

Hon. Gabriel Hauge, Administrative Assistant to the President

2:30 pm Hon. Charles E. Wilson, Secretary of Defense (This is Mr. Wilson's usual weekly appointment which he was unable to keep on Monday)

The President gave a STAG DINNER for the following:

Hon. T. Coleman Andrews, Commissioner of Internal Revenue, Treasury Department

Mr. Robert P. Burroughs, President & Treasurer, R.P. Burroughs Co., Inc., Manchester, New Hampshire

Mr. Everett Case, President, Colgate University, Hamilton, N.Y.

Mr. Hugh J. Casey, Chairman, New York City Transit Authority Mr. Robert Clark, Correspondent, International News Service Mr. Frank J. Donohue, Certified Public Accountant, Haskins &

Sells. New York General James H. Doolittle, Vice President, Shell Oil Co., New York Mr. Samuel Goldwyn, Chairman of the Board, Samuel Goldwyn

Production, Inc., Los Angeles Hon. Edmund F. Mansure, Administrator, General Services Admin. Hon. Thomas B. McCabe, President, Scott Paper Co., Chester, Pa.

Mr. Donald M. Mumford, General Manager, Hotel Statler, Detroit Mr. Aksel Nielsen, President, The Title Guaranty Co., Denver Hon. Val Peterson, Administrator, Federal Civil Defense Adm. Mr. Matthew Woll, First Vice President, American Federation of

Mr. Frank Wood, Oil Executive, Wichita Falls, Texas