Mr. Bryant S. Zebedy
Legislative Secretary
Marshall Islands Nitijela
Post Office Bex 24
Majuro, Marshall Islands 96960

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

Dear Mr. Zebedy:

The certified copy of Resolution No. 29-NO-1 of the Mar. hell Islands Nitijela which you forwarded to the Administration of the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) has been received. We thank you for sending us this copy of the Resolution and are pleased that the people of the Marshall Islands appreciate and have confidence in the medical program of ERDA to the extent expressed by the Resolution.

As you know, ERDA and its predecessor, the Atomic Energy Commission, have had a medical program, carried out by our Brookhaven National Laboratory (ENL), since 1954. This program has been conducted with the cooperation of the Department of Health Services, Government of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. Our present program provides an annual major medical visit and quarterly fomlow-up visits from the resident physician at Kwajalein. This year we have lengthened the visits to provide time for all residents, particularly at Utirik, to be seen by the physicians if they desire. However, we have no present plans to extend the medical program to include additional general medical care outside the times of the scheduled visits. We can assure you that when treatment of radiation reluced injury in the United States is deemed necessary, it will be the bust possible, whether it is on the mainland or in Haumii. While EEDA has provided these medical visits, the general medical care remains a responsibility of the Covernment of the Trust Territory of the decific Islands. We at ERDA are, nevertheless, proud of the Lab. medical team and the fact that they have been successful over the years in enlisting the assistance of experts from various medical centure throughout the United States to assist them in their work.

We will be glad to nect with representatives of the Hitljela and further discuss the Resolution if they should so desire.

Sincerely,

James L. Liverman
Assistant Administrator
for Christonaunt and Safety

Addresses for ccs:

Mr. Oscar DeBrum District Administrator, Marshalls Majuro, Marshall Islands 96960

Mr. Adrian Winkel
High Commissioner
Trust Territory of the Pacific
Islands
Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950

Mrs. Ruth G. Van Cleve Director, Office of Territorial Affairs Department of the Interior Washington, D. C. 20240